Schedules of The Indian Constitution

Table of Contents

It is like an Appendix of 12 Schedules which contain additional details that are not feasible to write in the articles. Originally there were 8 schedules in 1949 but now it has 12 schedules.

ScheduleSubjectArticles covered
First ScheduleName of the States and union territories and their jurisdiction.1 to 4
Second ScheduleProvisions relating to the emoluments, allowances, privileges and so on of the followings: The President of India.The Governors of the States.The Judges of the Supreme Court and the High Court.The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha.The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.The Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.The Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the legislative Council.The Comptroller and Auditor-General of India.59, 65, 75, 97, 125, 148, 158, 164, 186 and 221
Third ScheduleForms of oath and affirmation for: The Union MinisterMinisters to State LegislatureCandidates for election to the ParliamentThe members of the ParliamentThe Judges of the Supreme Court and the High Court.The Comptroller and Auditor-General of India.Members of Parliament.Members of State Legislature.75, 84, 99, 124, 146, 173, 188 and 219
Fourth ScheduleAllocate seats for States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha.4 and 80
Fifth ScheduleAdministration and control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.244
Sixth ScheduleProvisions relating to the administration of tribal areas in  the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura244 and 275
Seventh ScheduleAllocation of power and functions between Union and States. It contains 3 lists: Union list (Subjects under Central Govt.). 100 subjects (Originally 97) States list (Subjects under state Govt.). 61 subjects (Originally 66) Concurrent list (Subjects under both Central Govt. and State Govt.). 52 subjects (Originally 47)246
Eighth ScheduleList of 22 scheduled languages of India (Originally 14). They are: Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri (Dongri), Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Mathili (Maithili), Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu. Sindhi was added in 1967 by 21st Amendment Act.Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were added in 1992 by 71st Amendment Act.Santhali, Mathili, Bodo and Dogri were added in 2003 by 92nd Amendment Act.‘Oriya’ renamed as ‘Odia’ by 96th Amendment Act, 2011.344 and 351
Ninth ScheduleIt was added by 1st Amendment Act in 1951. It contains Acts and Regulations of the State Legislature dealing with the land reform and abolition of Zamindari System. It was added to protect the laws include in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of Fundamental Rights. However, in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled out that the laws included in this schedule after 24th April, 1973, are now open to judicial review.31-B
Tenth ScheduleIt was added by 52nd Amendment Act in 1985. It contains the provision of disqualification of the Members of Parliament and State Legislature on the ground of Defection. It is also known as Anti-Defection Law.102 and 491
Eleventh ScheduleIt was added by 73rd Amendment Act in 1992. It specifies the power, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats. It has 29 matters.243-G
Twelfth ScheduleIt was added by 74th Amendment Act in 1992. It specifies the power, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters.243-W
Previous Resting Place of famous Indian Personalities
Next Who is The Solicitor General Of India?

Leave a Reply