NITI Aayog

Table of Contents

NITI Aayog

Full form – National Institution for Transforming India

The 65 years old, ‘Planning Commission’ had been scrapped and replaced by the Government of India on 13th May 2014. Narendra Modi was the Prime Minister of India at that time.

On January 1, 2015, the NITI Aayog was established via a resolution of the Union Cabinet.

NITI Aayog

It is neither a constitutional body nor a statutory body as it is created by an executive resolution of the Government of India.

NITI Aayog is the premier policy ‘Think Tank’ of the Government of India, providing both directional and policy inputs. While designing strategic and long term policies and programmes for the Government of India, NITI Aayog also provides relevant technical advice to the Centre and States.

Functions of NITI Aayog.

  • Foster Cooperative Federalism
  • Design Policy and Programme Framework
  • Monitoring and Evaluation
  • Think tank and Knowledge & Innovation Hub.

There are two hubs at the NITI Aayog: They are –

  • The Team India Hub –

It carries out the mandate of fostering ‘Cooperative Federalism’ and ‘Designing Policy and Programme Frameworks’. It provides requisite coordination and support framework to NITI Aayog in is engagement with the States.

  • The Knowledge & Innovation Hub –

It ensures fulfilling the mandate of maintaining a State-of-the-Art Resource Centre. It ensures to be a repository of research of good governance and best practices and their dissemination to stakeholders and to provide advice and encourage partnerships across key areas.

Objectives of NITI Aayog:

  1. To evolve a shared vision of national development priorities, sectors and strategies with the active involvement of States.
  2. To foster cooperative federalism through structured support initiatives and mechanisms with the States on a continuous basis, recognizing that strong States make a strong nation.
  3. To develop mechanisms to formulate credible plans at the village level and aggregate these progressively at higher levels of government.
  4. To ensure, on areas that are specifically referred to it, that the interests of national security are incorporated in economic strategy and policy.
  5. To pay special attention to the sections of our society that may be at risk of not benefiting adequately from economic progress.
  6. To design strategic and long term policy and programme frameworks and initiatives, and monitor their progress and their efficacy. The lessons learnt through monitoring and feedback will be used for making innovative improvements, including necessary mid-course corrections.
  7. To provide advice and encourage partnerships between key stakeholders and national and international like-minded Think tanks, as well as educational and policy research institutions.
  8. To create a knowledge, innovation and entrepreneurial support system through a collaborative community of national and international experts, practitioners and other partners.
  9. To offer a platform for resolution of inter-sectoral and inter­ departmental issues in order to accelerate the implementation of the development agenda.
  10. To maintain a state-of-the-art Resource Centre, be a repository of research on good governance and best practices in sustainable and equitable development as well as help their dissemination to stake-holders.
  11. To actively monitor and evaluate the implementation of programmes and initiatives, including the identification of the needed resources so as to strengthen the probability of success and scope of delivery.
  12. To focus on technology up-gradation and capacity building for the implementation of programmes and initiatives.
  13. To undertake other activities as may be necessary in order to further the execution of the national development agenda, and the objectives mentioned above.

Composition of NITI Aayog:

1.ChairpersonThe Prime Minister of India
2.Vice- ChairmanAppointed by the PM of India
3.Governing CouncilCM of all states and UTs having legislative assemblies and the Lt. Governors of other UTs.
4.Regional CouncilCM of all states and UTs having legislative assemblies and the Lt. Governors of other UTs. It is chaired by the Chairperson of the NITI Aayog or his nominee. It is convened by the PM.
5.Special InviteeExpert or Specialist in a particular field nominated by the PM.
6.Full time Organisational Framework· Chairperson – The Prime Minister of India
· Vice- Chairman – Appointed by the PM of India
· CEO – Appointed by the PM of India for a fixed tenure. He is in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India.
· Full-time Members – Minister of states
· Part-time Members – Max. of 2 members from leading universities, research organizations, and other innovative organizations in an ex-officio capacity. They are appointed on a rotation basis.
· Ex-officio members – Max. of 4 members of the council of Ministers. They are nominated by PM.

7 pillars of effective Governance.

The NITI Aayog is based on the 7 pillars of effective Governance. They are –

  1. Pro-people – It will work for the individuals along with the society.
  2. Pro-activity – It will actively responding to the need of citizens.
  3. Participation – Allows the involvement of citizens in governmental policies, programmes, etc.
  4. Empowering – Empowering everyone, especially women and weaker sections of the society.
  5. Inclusion of all – the inclusion of all without any discrimination.
  6. Equality – to provide equal opportunity to all especially youth of our nation.
  7. Transparency – working of the Government will be more open to the public and the government will be more accountable.

Leave a Reply