Table of Contents
Amendment NumberYearAmended Provisions
1st Amendment Act1951Added 9th Schedule to protect the land reforms and the laws related to it from judicial review.
7th Amendment Act1956– On the linguistic basis, the states had been reorganized into 14 States and 6 UTs.
– Extended the jurisdiction of the high court to UTs.
– Establishment of a common high court for 2 or more states.
9th Amendment Act1960Facilitated the cession of the Indian territory of Berubari Union (located in WB) to Pakistan as provided in the Indo-Pakistan Agreement (1958).
10th Amendment Act1961Incorporated Dadra and Nagar Haveli in the Indian Union.
12th Amendment Act1962Incorporated Goa, Daman, and Diu in the Indian Union.
13th Amendment Act1962Provide status of state to Nagaland and made special provisions for it.
14th Amendment Act1962Incorporated Puducherry in the Indian Union.
24th Amendment Act1971– Affirmed the power of parliament to amend any part of the constitution including fundamental rights.
– President must give his assent to a constitutional Amendment Bill.
25th Amendment Act1971Curtailed the fundamental right to property.
26th Amendment Act1971Abolished the titles and special privileges of former rulers of princely states.
31st Amendment Act1972Increased the number of Lok Sabha seats from 525 to 545.
36th Amendment Act1975Sikkim became the full-fledged state of the Indian Union and 10th schedule was omitted.
42nd Amendment Act1976– Added Fundamental Duties by the citizen contained in Part-IV A.
– Added 3 new words – Socialist, Secular, and Integrity.
– Made the constitutional amendments beyond the judicial scrutiny.
National emergency can be proclaimed in any part of the territory of India.
– The President is constitutionally bounded by the advice of the Council of Ministers.
– It provided supremacy of parliament and gave primacy to DPSP over Fundamental Rights.
– Extended the one-time duration of the President’s rule in a state from 6 months to 1 year.
Added Part XIV A which includes tribunal for administrative and other matters.
– The term of Lok Sabha and State Legislative assemblies increased to 6 years from 5 years.
– The power of judicial review and writ jurisdiction of the Supreme Court and the High Court had been curtailed.
– Also called “Mini Constitution ”
43rd Amendment Act1977– Restored the power of judicial review and writ jurisdiction of the Supreme Court and High Court.
– The special power of the Parliament to make laws to deal with the anti-national activities had been taken away.
44th Amendment Act1978– Removed the “Right to Property” from the list of Fundamental Rights.
– The fundamental rights guaranteed by Article 20 and 21 cannot be suspended during a national emergency.
– The term ‘internal disturbance’ had been replaced by the by ‘Armed Rebellion’.
– The term of Lok Sabha and the state legislative assemblies had been restored to 5 years.
52nd Amendment Act1985Anti-Defection Law and added 10th schedule containing detail of this law.
58th Amendment Act1987Translation of the Constitution in Hindi.
61st Amendment Act1989Reducing the voting age from 21 to 18 years.
65th Amendment Act1990Accorded statutory status to the commission for scheduled castes and scheduled tribes and designated them as National Commission for the SC’s and the ST’s.
73rd Amendment Act1992Added new Part – IX entitled as ‘the Panchayats’ and a new 11th Schedule which granted Constitutional status and protection to the Panchayati raj institutions.
74th Amendment Act1992Added new Part – IX-A entitled as ‘the Municipalities’ and a new 12th Schedule which granted Constitutional status and protection to the urban local bodies.
86th Amendment Act2002Article 21 A was added which made ‘Education’ a fundamental Right for children in the age-group of 6-14 years.
88th Amendment Act2003A provision for service tax was made under Article 268-A.
89th Amendment Act2003National Commission for SC’s and ST’s into 2 separate bodies
– National Commission for SC’s (Article 338)
– National Commission for ST’s (Article 338-A).
91st Amendment Act2003Amended the Anti-Defection Law to strengthen it and made provisions to limit the size of the council of ministers.
92nd Amendment Act20034 new languages – Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, and Santhali added in the Eighth Schedule which increased the constitutionally recognized number to 22.
93rd Amendment Act2005Reserve seats OBC’s in governmental as well as educational institutions.
99th Amendment Act2014Formation of National Judicial Appointment Commission. However, it was declared unconstitutional and void in 2015 by the Supreme Court.
100th Amendment Act2015Swapping of territories between India and Bangladesh.
101st Amendment Act2016Goods and Service Tax introduced.
102nd Amendment Act2018Constitutional Status to the National Commission for Backward Classes
103rd Amendment Act201910% reservation for Economically Weaker Section (EWS) of the society in Government jobs and admission in educational institutions
104th Amendment Act2020It extends the reservation of seats for the SC’s and ST’s in the Lok Sabha and state assemblies by a period of 10 years.
– Officially it is known as ‘Constitution Act, 2019’
Previous NITI Aayog

Leave a Reply